Lee Pee Wees Win


From Staff Reports

After upsetting top-seeded Dunn on Monday night to reach the Pee Wee football championship, Erwin was unable to overcome Lee County, which won 24-6 in the championship game Thursday at Triton.

Jamaury Taylor ran for 41 yards and a touchdown on four carries and Isaac Bennett ran for 8 yards on six carries to lead Erwin.

Isaac Peoples ran for 49 yards and a touchdown one seven carries to lead Lee County.

Lee drove into the red zone on its opening drive, but fumbled at the Erwin 5-yard line. But two plays later, a tackled in the end zone put Lee on the board with a safety.

Early in the second quarter, Lee scored on a 7-yard run by Michael Blanks. Brett Blanks ran for the two-point conversion.

Lee scored early in the fourth quarter on a 13-yard Peoples run. The conversion attempt was no good.

Erwin scored its lone touchdown on the following drive on a 29-yard Taylor run. The conversion attempt was no good.

Lee answered with Jaylen Pyatt returning the ensuing kickoff 43 yards for a touchdown. Brett Blanks ran for two.

Zamonte McDougald makes a tackle for Erwin in the Pee Wee championship game with Lee County.

Daily Record Photo/John Lucas



Previous ArticleNext Article